Climate Emergency Mobilization Commission


The Mayor and the City Council appointed the Climate Emergency Mobilization Commission (CEMC) to advise the City Council and Mayor in the creation of equitable climate policies. The CEMC members include equitable representation from the top 10% pollution-burdened areas of LA per CalEnviroScreen, youth, labor, Indigenous Tribal leadership, and climate-health experts. The CEMC is focused on innovating equity-centered climate policy.

  • The CEMC consists of 19 voting members, with seven members representing the most vulnerable areas of LA, that are in the top 10% pollution-burdened segment per CalEnviroScreen data.
  • The Commission was launched on June 28, 2022.   
  • The Commission's Executive Director is Marta Segura, the Director of CEMO.
  • The Climate Emergency Mobilization Commission was established by the City Council and the Mayor through Ordinance no. 187126.

As a covered entity under Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act, the City of Los Angeles does not discriminate on the basis of disability and, upon request, will provide reasonable accommodation to ensure equal access to its programs, services and activities.


  • CEMC meeting audio can be listened to via phone by dialing 1 669 900 9128 and entering Meeting ID No. 835 9206 1784. The meeting will also be live broadcast online via the CEMC's YouTube channel.
  • Members of the public are invited to provide written comments via e-mail to Written comments will be submitted for the record.
  • Members of the public are invited to address the Commission in-person or virtually during the Public Comment Period.
    • To participate and offer Public Comment in-person during a meeting, members of the public must complete and submit a Public Comment Speaker Card to Commission staff prior to the start of the applicable Public Comment period.
    • Members of the public who wish to offer Public Comment virtually should dial 1 669 900 9128 and enter Meeting ID No. 835 9206 1784 followed by the # (pound sign).




  • Jacquelyn Badejo, President, First geographically distinct communities member
  • Monica Mejia, First Vice President, Fourth geographically distinct communities member
  • Daniel Ferguson, Second Vice President, Third climate change/air quality, toxics, and/or workforce policy expert member
  • Julie Ciardullo, Second climate change/air quality, toxics, and/or workforce policy expert member
  • Jocelyn Duarte, Chair of the Energy and Environment Committee member
  • Carolyn Hernandez, Third geographically distinct communities member
  • Laurie Jacobs, Seventh geographically distinct communities member
  • Luis Angel Martinez, Fifth geographically distinct communities member
  • Michael Martinez, Second geographically distinct communities member
  • Lindsay Rose Medoff, Small Business owner member
  • Sara Nichols, First climate change/air quality, toxics, and/or workforce policy expert member
  • Rudy Ortega, Jr., Indigenous Fernandeño Tataviam Band of Mission Indians member
  • David Ramirez, Second youth member
  • Kristal Romero, Organized labor member
  • Emily Starr, First youth member
  • Michael Young, Sixth geographically distinct communities member
ADMINISTRATIVE RULES AND PROCEDURES (Adopted by Commission on October 31, 2023)

The Climate Emergency Mobilization Commission is an independent committee that advises the Mayor and City Council. It is not advisory to and does not manage the Climate Emergency Mobilization Office, which operates separately under the Board of Public Works' authority within the Department of Public Works. (Los Angeles Administrative Code, Sections 22.1500(a)(i), 22.1510(b), and 22.362(c) and (d).) The Commission's website can be accessed through the Office of the City Clerk's page.

© Copyright 2024 City of Los Angeles. All rights reserved. Site Disclaimer | Privacy Policy